2016 -2019

Each year the Institute recognises the achievements that one person has made towards advancing good governance through the Good Governance Award.


We are delighted to announce that the 2020 Good Governance Award will be presented to Dame Janet Smith in recognition of her significant contribution to improving good governance through her work as a High Court Judge and President of the Council of the Inns of Court.

The Rt Hon. Lady Justice Smith is also being recognised for her roles of chairing the Shipman Inquiry into the activities of the serial killer Harold Shipman, her report following the investigation into the activities of Jimmy Savile, and as the independent assessor for miscarriages of justice compensation.


Dame Janet joins an illustrious list of previous recipients: Judge Mervyn King, Sir William Wells, Sir Liam Donaldson, Dame Julie Moore and Dame Fiona Caldicott.


Baroness Glenys Thornton, Member of the GGI Advisory Board, will present Dame Janet with the Good Governance Award at GGI’s annual lecture in September 2020.

Judge Mervyn King

GGI Award 2015

Sir William Wells

GGI Award 2016

Sir Liam Donaldson

GGI Award 2017

Dame Julie Moore

GGI Award 2018

Dame Fiorna Caldicott

GGI Award 2019




Janet Smith is a former High Court Judge and President of the Council of the Inns of Court. She became Independent Assessor for Miscarriages of Justice in June 2011.

After being called to the Bar in 1972, she practised in Manchester for twenty years, specialising in the area of clinical negligence.


She was made a QC in 1986 and a High Court Judge in 1992. In 2002 she became the fourth woman to be promoted to the Court of Appeal, and published the findings of the high-profile Shipman Enquiry in the same year. In October 2012 she was appointed by the BBC to lead an inquiry into allegations of sexual abuse by Jimmy Savile.

Dame Janet Smith